Skip to main content

Removal of Your Details

How to have your personal information deleted from your account

Under UK GDPR, customers have rights regarding how their personal data is stored and used. If you want to leave Butternut Box, there are three different removal options available, depending on whether you may want to return in the future.
​

Choosing the right Removal type

When a customer wants to leave us, there are three tiers of removal:
​

1. Pausing your subscription (Cancelling)

This stops your subscription while keeping your account and personal information (PII) on our systems.

This means that:

  • Your account remains available in a paused state.

  • Your personal information is retained.

  • You can reactivate your account and resume your subscription at any time in the future.

💡 Choose this option if you are simply taking a break and may want to return.
​

2. Deletion (Soft Removal)

This removes all of your personally identifiable information (PII) from our systems, while allowing you to return to Butternut Box in the future.

This means that:

  • Your PII is removed from our systems.

  • Your subscription and future deliveries are stopped.

  • Marketing and service notifications are disabled.

  • You can sign up again in the future if you choose to return.

💡 Choose this option if you want your personal information removed but may want to become a customer again in the future.
​

3. Erasure (Hard Removal)

This is the most permanent removal option. In addition to removing all of your PII from Butternut Box's systems, we also instruct our relevant third-party providers, including Stripe and Iterable, to permanently forget your email address and payment card details.
​

This means that:

  • Your PII is removed from Butternut Box's systems.

  • Your email address is permanently forgotten by our billing and email marketing systems.

  • Your payment details are permanently forgotten by our billing system.

    ⚠️ You will not be able to sign up with Butternut Box again using the same email address or payment card.

💡 If you may want to return to Butternut Box in the future, the Deletion (Soft Removal) option should be used instead.

📣 Our Customer Love Team can remove your PII (personally identifiable information) from our system. Simply get in touch, request the preferred option, and the team will action this.

Did this answer your question?